Stuck in a rut?

Yesterday as I was bottling up the pomegranate seeds that I had painstakingly popped out, I saw an ant literally diving among the seeds. There was little I could do to save it, for fear that any movement on my part would push it deeper or worse crush it to death. There was nothing to do, except pray and hope for the sake of the little creature that it makes it out alive, unhurt. At that moment I had an epiphany – I wondered if there were times when we were in the ant’s place, sinking ourselves into deep, dark pits while God can do nothing but hope that we have it in us to make it through. Of course, some might be of the opinion that there’s nothing that is undoable as far as God is concerned… but is that so?

If that were the case, then clearly the world would be heaven… one that’s free of murder, rape, abuse, foeticide, blackmail and so on, and so forth. Maybe God lets go of us, knowing that only we ourselves have the power to put us out of our misery. But the question is – how often do we realize this predicament? Maybe every once in a while, we have to look deep inside ourselves for the solutions, rather than glance heavenwardly in a how-can-you-ignore-my-plight stare.

DISCLAIMER:

This is just a thought. Some of you may not agree with me on this, but everyone’s entitled to their own opinion. I won’t hold that against you if you can return the favour to me. 🙂

© 2015 Shweta Suresh. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

