Introspection

Goodbye, Alan Rickman

Ever since I first read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Philosopher’s Stone, to some of you.), nearly thirteen years ago, I had been branded for life. I’ve been a Potterhead for so long, that I can even be safely classified as a Harry Potter nerd. I had been totally obsessed with the books, the movie series it had spawned, and in short, anything and everything, that was even remotely related to Harry Potter. Needless to say, I own all seven books and they are the most battered books in my collection; made worse for wear, by the countless times I’ve read them, over and over again. So obsessed had I been, that I had even gone to the trouble of making a scrapbook of sorts, and filled it completely with almost every “Harry Potter” newspaper cuttings, that I could lay my hands on. If I’d been living in London (or at the very least, had the means to get to London.) I’d have stood in line, waiting for hours on end, wearing a cloak, just to get a signed copy from J.K. Rowling. All the that being said, I’ll confess one thing – I love the Harry Potter movie series, but I love the books more. Even so, when I read the books, I’ve always pictured the characters as the actors who had portrayed them in the movie. Okay, now I’m starting to veer away from what I’d originally intended to write! Yes, I’m aware that Severus Snape was just another one of his roles. But I can’t write about Alan Rickman, without mentioning Severus Snape. And without Harry Potter, there would be no Severus Snape.

Severus Snape had been one of the most detested, hated characters in Harry Potter; until Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows was released, and the world saw Snape for who he was, than who he had been portrayed to be. Call me fickle, but Severus Snape has been one of my favourite characters ever since. And, Alan Rickman had essayed the character so brilliantly! Apart from Harry Potter, I have seen very few of his works.

I didn’t have the time to check my twitter feed yesterday. When I read the article in today’s newspaper, I couldn’t believe that Alan Rickman was no more! I had to read the article twice before the words could sink in. I was saddened by the news of his death. I’ve never met him or known him in person, and now I’ll never know him. I’ve known him only through his performances. His death has touched many lives. I’m one among the millions who are mourning his death. I’m still reeling from the shock. When I read the various tributes that have been pouring in from people who have known him, I realize, that I’m terribly inadequate to even attempt to write an obituary for this brilliant actor. But I had to write this much. Many of us knew him only through the multitude of roles he played. My deepest condolences go out to his family and friends, to whom he was much more than just an actor or a director.

Thank you, Alan Rickman, for bringing one of my favorite characters to life. Watching Harry Potter will never be the same again. The world has suffered a great loss. You might be gone, but you’ll always live in our minds, through your characters. You will be missed. Rest in peace. Goodbye.

Here are some of my favourite “Snape moments” from the series

snape3.gif

 

snape1

 

snape

 

© 2016 Shweta Suresh. All rights reserved.

GIF courtesy: GIPHY

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Goodbye, Alan Rickman

  1. I’m a die hard Potter fan too ! I could relate to most of your article.I was also shocked when I heard of Alan Rickman’s death.He was a brilliant actor.Back in school,one of our chemistry teachers was nicknamed ‘Snape’ .This post brought back so many wonderful memories..I feel all nostalgic. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah! We’ll never be too old for Harry Potter. Glad to find a fellow Potterhead! 🙂
      I was in shock too. 😞 He was a brilliant actor, but I’ll always remember him for bringing Snape to life. May his soul rest in peace.
      Thanks for reading, Akshitha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah me too.For me Snape will always be Alan Rickman.You are welcome Shweta 🙂 I suppose you are from Trivandrum itself?Coz I found ur post on Agneya. 😀

        Like

      2. nice.I thought so 🙂 I wasn’t born here neither do I belong to Trivandrum.I’m from Cochin but Trivandrum is pretty much my home.I did my schooling and degree here.Ever since my third std I’m here 😀 Yeah I knw about Agneya..I mean of course I do ! 😀 I did my BA from Mar Ivanios.Currently doing my Pg at Govt. Arts college,Thycaud 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

