My thoughts on ABC cancelling Castle…

Eight years ago, I was as crazy about this show as I still am. Castle was not just another cop show. I loved Castle’s outlandish theories and his happy-go-lucky attitude, the perfect antithesis to Beckett’s take-no-nonsense one. The entire cast was dynamic. Kate, Ryan, Espo, Martha, and Alexis had their moments too. But the highlight of every episode, for me, was Castle’s various antics. I also tried to guess the real murderer before Beckett and Castle did! I loved the show so much that I could watch it over, and over again and not get tired of it. I have binge-watched this show more times than I can remember: especially the first three seasons. I loved the opening credits of Seasons 2 and 3:

“ There are two kinds of people who sit around all day thinking about killing people… psychopaths and mystery writers. I’m the kind that pays better. Who am I? I’m Rick Castle. Castle. Castle. I really am ruggedly handsome, aren’t I? Every writer needs inspiration, and I found mine.”

and of course, the “Do the Castle” theme song. A lot has happened over the course of eight long seasons. The wait after every season finale was torture. I have literally counted down days to the next season, especially during the long wait after seasons 3, 5 and 6! I could watch all the re-runs and still not get tired of it. I was sad over Captain Montgomery’s death, hated Captain “Iron” Gates initially, (spoiler alert: if you haven’t watched season 8!) but I was disappointed when her character was written out. During the first few seasons, I have wondered when and if at all, Castle and Beckett would end up together, and when they did, I thought that maybe, it was a good thing that it happened after season 5. Seasons 6 and 7 aren’t exactly my favourite, but I loved the Season 7 finale! It was so good that even if ABC hadn’t renewed Castle for an eight season, I would have been okay with it… I think! There are so many moments from each season, that I would love to mention. But since I’ll probably need an individual post for every season, I’m not going there. I have a friend who’s equally crazy about this show. During the past few months, we often wondered if we’d ever give up on the show. There was a time when we both agreed that loyalty was the one reason why we never missed a single episode. But things started looking good, ever since the midseason premiere. And we decided that we would enjoy Castle while it lasts.

The finale is yet to air. The anticipation is sky-high. I wonder how they’ll wrap up the show. After hearing about Stana Katic’s exit, and before ABC announced the cancellation, I had mixed reactions to the season/series finale. Then there’s the talk about an alternate ending, which the writers’ themselves hope will never air. ” Budgetary cuts? “, I thought. You just can’t write off one of the main characters and blame it on budgetary cuts! For years, I have imagined that I would be inconsolable if Castle were to be cancelled. But in the face of Static’s departure being confirmed, cancellation seems to be the lesser of two evils. I’m pretty sure most Castle fans, like me, won’t be extremely heartbroken over the cancellation. Many of them (myself included) were, in fact rooting for the show being cancelled after news about Katic’s departure broke. So in a way, the news of the show being cancelled comes as a relief. I would have held it against ABC for sure, had they ever gone ahead with Season 9 without Beckett and Lanie. Castle is done. It’s better to end the series on a high note, rather than mess up the story. (read: Season 9 probably would have meant replacing Beckett with Hayley. I don’t think it can get worse than that. Thank God for the cancellation!)

Castle is one of my all-time favourites. I don’t care about the falling ratings or what the critics and Castle antagonists have to say. I love this show. This is a show that I’ve followed and watched devoutly ever since its inception. That’s exactly 172 episodes and no, I’ve never missed a single episode all through these eight years. This show has gifted me with lots of memories that will stay with me, long after the series finale has aired. Granted, there was a time, season 6 and parts of season 7 in particular, when I continued to watch, out of sheer loyalty. But season 8 has lived up to my expectations, and then some. I loved the last few episodes. I hope the finale doesn’t let me down. Despite the “Everything ends in tragedy – even an epic love story like yours.” quote from the promo, I believe fervently hope that the finale will bring closure. Fingers crossed for a finale that doesn’t leave us heartbroken.

But come what may, one thing is for certain. Castle may have been cancelled. But I will always love this show. Always.

© 2016 Shweta Suresh. All rights reserved.

Image courtesy: ABC

12 thoughts on “My thoughts on ABC cancelling Castle…

  1. I love Castle, too. I was drawn by the writing aspect and I love Firefly and was glad Nathan had a chance with another series. He is a great actor. I enjoyed the writers circle an the famous authors he had talks with. I wish they hadn’t stopped that. There are few shows with writers as a main character. I will always love Castle.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Another castle fan.. 🙂 me too. However I feel the edge of the show was over once they married! And then on it has dragged. But the first 4 seasons rock.. I can pick up episodes and talk about it.. The blue butterfly somehow remains a favourite, there is a post on it on my blog and how a friend and I hunted down shops to own that kind of a leather diary .. Good to know! Ryan, Espo..

    I was wondering how castle could run with her! How can we think of somebody else as Beckett!

    I fear I can hijack this comment section 🙂 cya

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The blue butterfly episode was hilarious. My favourite part is where Castle says, “As they stared into each other’s eyes, Kate’s heart quickened” and all that follows! 😂😂😂

      Wow, hunting down shops for an identical diary! I’ve never gone to such lengths! 🙂 Could you post a link here? I’ll look up that post. 🙂 Season 8 had some great episodes. Hope you haven’t stopped watching! Feel free to hijack the comment section. Always great to discuss Castle with another fan! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this show too!! I actually just got introduced to it this year so I’ve been playing catch-up, but I think it’s a great show. I agree about cancelling on a high note, there are too many shows that extend and either have terrible last seasons (Scrubs) or just drag on too long (How I Met Your Mother).

    Like

  4. Hi! Sometime after I wrote my post about the cancellation of Castle, I found an article that said Fillion and Katic couldn’t stand each other and would barely be in the same room together. I think they were planning to kill her character off in the finale. The problem with that is that she really WAS co-main-characters with Fillion, set up that way from episode one. Switching the “soulmate” status to Hayley breaks the concept of the series. With that being the case, I can understand if Katic ASKED to be written out, but there’s no hard evidence saying she did.

    Either way, I’m going to miss this series so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

