A to Z Challenge · Tiny Tales

#AtoZChallenge: A meal for two (tiny tale #8)

The dining room was decorated just the way she liked it,
The table was set for two, mats and her very best plates were laid out,
Smiling and feeling extremely pleased with herself,
She took her place at the table and
lovingly topped each of the two plates with food.
Food that she had taken much effort to prepare,
Everything was perfect.

She lowered one of the plates to the floor,
where her best friend was waiting.
His tail wagged furiously,
and his puppy eyes were entirely focused on the food.

They always had dinner together.
She liked it that way.

© 2017 Shweta Suresh. All rights reserved.

Author’s Note:

So that’s my first #AtoZChallenge post. I dedicate this post to all dog pet lovers. But I am slightly partial to dogs. They are most faithful, loyal creatures. and I’ve had two as pets but sadly both of them have climbed the stairway to heaven. I miss them both very much but I have memories to cherish for a lifetime.

Image courtesy: Pixabay

atozchallenge

 

If you liked this post, please feel free to share this and help this post reach many others. You can find the sharing buttons just below the post!

I’d love to hear your thoughts about this post. Please don’t hesitate to leave a comment!

You can read more of my tiny tales here.

To receive notifications whenever I publish a new post, do like and follow my facebook page here.

172 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge: A meal for two (tiny tale #8)

  1. All caught up. What a great A. You’re a brilliant writer. Love the shortness and that you get a twist and we’re able to completely fall into your stories in a few lines. It’s been great to read half the alphabet in one go. Looking forward to the rest now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m extremely sorry for taking so long to reply. There were so many posts and comments that it was a bit hard to keep track! Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so happy to hear that. It means a lot! Thanks a ton. 🙂 Do keep visiting.

      Like

  2. Loved your post. I’m a dog lover myself, but never have I had the pleasure to adopt one..my father is highly scared of them 😦 So, I just love them from a distance!

    Thanks for sharing this lovely post and may the souls of your dear dogs rest in peace.

    Aspirations – Book Review by us.

    Regards,
    Pikakshi
    Readers of the Night

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohhh I’m sorry to hear that. Many people are scared of dogs. I don’t have a pet currently but the first thing I do while visiting my friends or relatives who do have pets is to try and befriend them. The dogs take a while to accept me but when they do, it’s such a good feeling to cuddle them! But of course, I only do that with certain pets. Some are way too ferocious.
      Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing your story! And yes, I also hope that they both are happy, wherever they are now.
      Thanks a lot, Pikakshi. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Loved your post. I’m a dog lover myself, but never have I had the pleasure to adopt one..my father is highly scared of them 😦 So, I just love them from a distance!

    Thanks for sharing this lovely post and may the souls of your dear dogs rest in peace.

    Aspirations – Book Review by us.

    Regards,
    Pikakshi
    Readers of the Night

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

