A to Z Challenge · Tiny Tales

#AtoZChallenge: Everything and yet nothing (tiny tale #12)

She was a manager, chef, chief adviser, secretary & organizer to three, graceful hostess, party planner and much more.
Yet when asked what she did for a living, all she could say was, “I don’t have one”.

Β© 2017 Shweta Suresh. All rights reserved.

Author’s Note:
I dedicate this post to all stay-at-home parents, most importantly to my mother.

I believe they are the most underappreciated and dedicated hard workers for they have put their dreams on hold for the sake of others.

Image courtesy: Pixabay

atozchallenge

Here are the links to my other #AtoZChallenge tiny tales. Click on any letter to read the corresponding tiny tale.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

What are your thoughts, dear readers?

You can read more of my tiny tales here.

To receive notifications whenever I publish a new post, do like and follow my facebook page here.

If you liked this post, please feel free to share this and help this post reach many others. You can find the sharing buttons just below the post!

I have decided to join my fellow bloggers Sue and Melanie in displaying “a list of all the fiction-based A to Zs on all of our blogs, and thus engage in the ancient art of Online Cross-Promotion.” (in Melanie’s own words)

So if you yourself happen to be an A-to-Zer, who’s writing any form of fiction for this challenge, please leave a comment and let me know. I’ll definitely include your blog in my next AtoZ post. You are, of course, welcome to join us in this effort to promote fellow A-to-Zers who are also writing fiction! πŸ™‚

Here’s my list ofΒ fiction-based A to Z blogs:

I have added the links to their very first AtoZ post. Do visit and read πŸ™‚

Sue’s blog where she writes interesting tales about Elliot the snail’s adventures.

Marquessa’s blog where writes a fictional short story series about her character Kate’s adventures in Hawaii.

Melanie’s blog where she writes short, entertaining series of tales inspired by illustrations from The Strand Magazine.

Keith’s blog where he writes delightful tales about theΒ fictitious village of Amble Bay.

Shailaja’s blog where she writes micro fiction inspired by oxymorons.

Sorchia’sΒ blog where she writes a serial storyβ€”a Gothic fantasy featuring vengeful witches, disappearing castles, betrayal, and romance.

89 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge: Everything and yet nothing (tiny tale #12)

    1. Sorry about that. Somehow the comments ended up in the spam folder! Yes, sadly they are looked down upon and it’s so unfair. My mother is a homemaker and she’s the inspiration behind this post πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ooh, I like this. I often notice how condescending people are about stay-at-home parents, and wonder about it. It isn’t an easy job; it is, I imagine, rather a tricky one. I, however, think it is a noble thing to do, and I respect those who choose to do it, be they women, men, or neither. I also think it would be nice, just sort of generally, if people didn’t find it necessary to make so many harsh instant judgements about how other people choose to live their lives.
    Ahem. I will now step off my soap-box. I liked your micro-fiction, and will read some more of it anon. I will also put your blog on my list of Fictioneers (again, I love that word, and would like to use it in the title of my list, if you don’t mind and if the list works out best with a title) as soon as I figure out how to present it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you liked it, Atherton πŸ™‚ It sure isn’t an easy job. They never really get the credit that is due to them. Yes, it is a very noble thing to do. The world would be a better place if people stopped making judgements but sadly that’s ​far from the reality. Thank you so much for stopping by and taking the time to share your thoughts.
      Thanks a lot for your kind comments. I’m so happy to hear that! 😊 Thanks for including my blog and I’m pretty sure I wasn’t the one who came up with the word. I love that word too and please feel free to use it however way you like. 😊
      I’ll look forward to your next post. Good luck with the list. Oh, and I think it’s a great idea. Kudos to you for thinking of this. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I am a Stay-At-Home-Mom now. You know what, when our moms were stay at home moms, it was no big deal. They did not need to justify what they were doing or keep saying I work 24X7 to realize their worth. They were quite strong women who knew exactly what they were doing and their worth. It is now when academic and corporate achievements are seen as the only achievements that this pressure has built up. Actually when someone tells me “Oh her job is a lot more difficult” i sometimes get irritated. I don’t need a sympathetic justification. You know what I mean??? πŸ˜€ Lots of things said in a few lines. Nice tiny tales there πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I know exactly what you mean! I get irritated on my mother’s behalf when I hear such things too. Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing your thoughts. May I know your name? πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. The homemaker’s job is one of the toughest one and it comes 24×7. Still, our society has such a pejorative attitude towards it! I wonder how those people who smirk at a homemaker would react if they had to employ different experts for each of this jobs….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know! I’m in total agreement with you. It is indeed a tough job but one that rarely gets the respect or credit that’s due to it. Thank you for stopping by and sharing your thoughts on this. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I remember watching Karan Johar’s infamous show, an episode in which Kareena Kapoor said that Sonakshi Sinha would make a great housewife. That led to a dirty backlash from the latter. I wonder why women use and take it as an insult.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

