A to Z Challenge · Tiny Tales

#AtoZChallenge: Starving (tiny tale #26)

Soiled hands eagerly grabbed the offered food and fed it to their hungry mouths.

For the ones who were starving, food came before everything else.

© 2017 Shweta Suresh. All rights reserved.

Author’s Note:

It’s heartbreaking, I know. Don’t Waste Food. Please.

This isn’t the first tiny tale I’ve written about this topic. Do read tiny tales Breakfast and Fate.

Image courtesy: Pixabay

atozchallenge

Here are the links to my other #AtoZChallenge tiny tales. Click on any letter to read the corresponding tiny tale.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Please don’t hesitate to share your thoughts.

I have decided to join my fellow bloggers Sue and Melanie in displaying “a list of all the fiction-based A to Zs on all of our blogs, and thus engage in the ancient art of Online Cross-Promotion.” Do visit my fellow A to Z Fictioneers whose blogs I’ve displayed on the sidebar!

You can read my tiny tales here.

52 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge: Starving (tiny tale #26)

  1. So sad. I really feel for this, to think that some people have no food to eat. My goal for 2017 that has been on my fridge since January is “Not waste food!”. We do our best to eat all leftovers and to eat produce before it goes bad. I also eat yogurt and other things after the expiration date.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is so heartbreaking to see so many of these kids the moment you step outside your house. We really shouldn’t waste food. Instead of donating money at temples and mosques, we should feed a starving child. God would be happier! Man, I’m so teared up right now, and to think you wrote just 2 lines. I don’t know to be mad at you or be in awe of you!
    Lovely words. Thanks for sharing!!

    Social Stigmas are a bane for our societies.Lets not give in.

    Regards,
    Pikakshi
    Readers of the Night

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Totally and completely agree, Shweta! In this world, food is excess in some places while there is simply nothing more than grass on the other. The pictures in the newspapers are heartbreaking and sad, just wish we could waste less.

    Like

  4. You caught that moment when food became available to a starving child very well. It made me wonder how you would approach the situation where a starving child watches someone more fortunate walk away from an unfinished meal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

