Introspection

Happy World Book Day! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Happy World Book Day! According to Wikipedia, “World Book Day or World Book and Copyright Day is a yearly event on April 23rd, organized by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, to promote reading, publishing, and copyright.” So as a self-confessed bibliophile, I couldn’t let the day go by without publishing a post to mark its importance.

I’ve always been a voracious reader. My love for books and reading started at a very young age. During my school days, English was one of my favourite subjects and those textbooks were the only books that I read from cover to cover! (and “revised” numerous times ๐Ÿ˜€ ) I don’t know if this sounds incredibly clichรฉd but Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone was one of the very first books that occupied a place in my library. I was about 7 years old when I read that book and I’ve been a fan ever since. It made me realize that reading was fun and also that there were books that I could actually read and understand! Ever year, during my summer vacations I used to re-read all the books in the series. (read: the ones that had been published till date) That should explain why I’m so obsessed with Harry Potter even today. ๐Ÿ˜€ It wasn’t the first book that I read but it was the first to occupy a place in my heart. And that’s why my love of reading and books will be incomplete without mentioning Harry Potter.

I feel such tremendous joy and excitement whenever I step into a library or a bookstore. Reading transports me to another world and helps me experience several worlds (and lives) quite different from the one I live in within the comfort of my own home. The times have changed and I may have shifted to Kindle, but nothing can beat the charm of a book. The feel of the pages, the smell of a book, turning the pages, bringing back memories (battered copies that have stood the test of time and scribbling would be impossible with a Kindle), and filling up your non-virtual library are some luxuries that only a book can provide. No Kindle can come close to that…

ยฉ 2017 Shweta Suresh. All rights reserved.

โ€œTo acquire the habit of reading is to construct for yourself a refuge from almost all the miseries of life.โ€ โ€” W. Somerset Maugham

and then, there’s this quote

โ€œThere is no friend as loyal as a book.โ€
โ€• Ernest Hemingway

Do feel free to use the comments section to share your love of reading and your favourite books. ๐Ÿ™‚

If you also happen to be a bibliophile, do read If onlyโ€ฆ (tiny tale #16). You might find that it’s quite relatable! ๐Ÿ™‚

37 thoughts on “Happy World Book Day! ๐Ÿ˜Š

  1. The Hindu (newspaper) is organising a book fair today in Chennai. I already have plans or I would have gone. Many authors will be coming for a talk or something.
    I read “prisoner of azkaban” a gazillion times. I think I had a bookish crush on Sirius ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜‰
    I have read a lot more books since I moved to kindle three years ago, may be 400 or so ๐Ÿ˜‚ I tend to read all books by one author before moving to the next author. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the heads-up, R. This ended up in the spam folder. :/ Ohh! Chennai is a bit too far from home for me!
      Haha, I loved Sirius too! There were so many lovable characters but his death was/is the reason why I haven’t read Order of Phoenix as many times as the others. It’s just too sad. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Ever since I have switched to ebooks and Kindle, I have also managed to read more books but in some ways, it isn’t as satisfying as a real book. But then again, I love reading so I can’t hold that again my Kindle for long. Haven’t you seen this post, R? Love of her life!

      Like

      1. You don’t like Potter anymore! ๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฑ Whoa, R! I’ll never grow tired of it. I love mystery and crime fiction too but Harry Potter books will have a special place in my heart. ๐Ÿ˜

        Like

  2. I was also book addict when I was child ๐Ÿ˜€even I did read a lot till 10th after that I kept distance ๐Ÿ˜‚
    As you know now days Google and wikipedia rule over academic content .
    By the way I haven’t read any Nobel since last 4years ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜
    You are lucky because still you are book addict
    Keep this spirit
    Keep writing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohhh that’s sad. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜
      But I’d taken a break from books after my 10th too. I resumed it during my college days. So maybe, one day you’ll start reading again! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh, I’m normally like that too but yesterday reading the newspaper reminded me before it was too late! But then again they say it’s better late than never. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

