Food for Thought #6: Dogs vs. Cats…

In one of my previous posts, I made a major typing blunder. One that will teach me to not publish posts while I am trying to evade sleep! I had typed the exact opposite of what I had in mind! I typed that I would choose cats over dogs! Will I? No, never! This is why I went to the trouble of dedicating an entire blog post for proclaiming my love for dogs.

No, I won’t choose cats over dogs. I love dogs too much to do that! Yes, dogs and cats are both good pets. They are cute, adorable, and irresistible. But if you ask me, I will choose dogs over cats. Any time, any day! Why, do you ask?

  1. Dogs are loyal.
  2. Dogs don’t desert you when they get bored of you or your home.
  3. Dogs will stay by your side. They won’t desert you just because they found another (better) home.
  4. Dogs don’t have that certain attitude that almost every cat seems to inherit magically!
  5. A dog’s love is unconditional. You have got to experience it to know what I am talking about.
  6. Did I mention that dogs are loyal?
  7. Dogs love to be cuddled and you don’t have to wary of getting a bite each time you cuddle them (provided the said dogs knows and loves you well, of course. In all other cases, all bets are off. )
  8. Because, well, umm, dogs are dogs! I just looooooovvvvve them. (Okay, this might not be rational but then again when it comes to dogs, my emotions get the best of me!)
  9. When it comes to protection and defense, or even calling out the presence of strangers, cats don’t even stand a chance against the dogs.
  10. Have you ever heard that old saying? You know, the one that says that “A dog is a man’s best friend”. Did you notice how they didn’t say the same thing about cats? Surely, there’s got to be a very valid reason behind that!
  11. Need I go on? But don’t let me stop you. Add any further points as comments and I will get back to you. As soon as I can. 😉

My personal and professional lives have been competing with each other to keep me away from blogging. I do manage to sneak off to post at least once every day. I don’t want to lose my streak! But I know, it’s been a while since I dropped by your blogs and replied to your comments. I am in a much better place now and I hope that I will have more time for blogging in the coming days. See you around.

If something resonated with you, do let me know. Do let me know if you have a different opinion too. Conversations matter. Especially now, in the age of social distancing.

Don’t hesitate to like, share and subscribe. 🙂

Follow me on Twitter | Instagram

© 2020 Shweta Suresh. All rights reserved.

54 thoughts on “Food for Thought #6: Dogs vs. Cats…

    1. Oh yes. Absolutely, Harsh. It reminds of something that Mark Twain had said.
      ‘The more I learn about people, the more I like my dog.’
      It’s very true too.
      I have been having great sleep these days.
      My Wi-Fi issue is fixed and it’s good as new 😃

      Like

  1. first off laughing hysterical about your writing your post the opposite was as I can relate to being half asleep and well…. ooops… !!! I would have always agreed and probs might or maybe I can’t choose. Dogs are awesome sure.. I gotta say cats are pretty flipping entertaining and I’ve trained mine like dogs.. even my feral comes when I ring the bell, sleeps right next to me and sits etc. I love them all. You know blogging once a week is fine too withg all you have going on. You’ve got the knack so don’t worry too much!! ❤️

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I’m glad that I was able to make you laugh, Cindy. I was mortified ever since I made that mistake. It goes against the grain of everything I believe it when it comes to dogs. 😂
      Oh wow, you’ve managed to train cats!? That’s awesome. I’ve had a few cats too but I couldn’t even get them to come to me when I call them let alone sleep next to me 😂
      I’ve got a long streak going on in WordPress. And I just don’t want it to break, especially when I’ve got so much to write about. But I’ve figured it out now. I’m sticking to a strict posting schedule and things are going great! Thanks for reading, Cindy.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Me too, thanks for that!
        Laughing is really vital to our soul. Mistakes happen, sleepless nights inevitable sometimes and I agree a schedule is helpful. Cats for sure have their own mind but with work anything is possible. I have turned into the cat whisperer. One is sleeping in my arms as I type.
        You have been on a year with your writing. I can’t sustain the screen time so I’m trying to
        Make a strict schedule and stick to it as well!! Here’s to words flowing and time for all!!! ❤️😍🤗

        Like

  2. We’ve always preferred cats, mainly because they are independent. The don’t bark in the night or whine. Cats fit on your lap better than most dogs.
    You don’t have to walk a cat in all weathers. You never have to pay a cat sitter; you can go away for the weekend and the cat will look after itself. The dog would chew the furniture and leave puddles here and there. 🤨

    Liked by 4 people

  3. I have to say that I love cats and dogs equally. It would be an impossible choice.

    An ex was hurting me. Was it the dogs that attacked him? No. It was my cat. Yes, cats can be very loyal. After divorcing Mr. Wrong, my favorite cat was with me when I met my better half (whom I have been with for almost 25 years). He always treated my favorite cat quite well. That’s probably why I stayed with him. 🙂

    My “defender” kitty passed away at the age of 13 in 2001 and I still miss him.

    Like

    1. A lion? Wow. That’s very ambitious. For the longest time, I had a deep desire to adopt and raise abandoned lion and tiger cubs. I’m glad that you loved all the points that I had stated. Dogs are huge bundles of happiness that love to be cuddled, pampered, petted, hugged and loved. I, for one, can’t resist them. You take care too, Rishika. Thank you for reading 💓

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, it broke my heart too. That I had made such a mistake! It was mortifying. My poor doggies. Hey dear, I’m back for good this time. I had missed you too. That’s why I hopped over to your blog the first chance I got 😃

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.