#AtoZChallenge One-liner: U is for Umbrella

Umbrella

(noun)

An object that has the potential to protect you from rain (and sun!), but ironically the day you forget to carry it ends up being the rainiest of days!

Did you know that the basic umbrella was invented nearly 4000 years ago and that initially it was only used by nobility and royalty?

Initially, umbrellas were treated as a female accessory. But even now, many of the men I know (including but not limited to my brother) turn their noses up at the thought of having to carry an umbrella!

And you have the option of either waiting it out or getting drenched from head to toe.

Whenever I forget my umbrella, it rains. Often, very heavily. Has this ever happened to you?

What are your thoughts? Do let me know. The comments section is all yours for the taking.

This is day #31 of the lockdown here in India. Hope you and your family are safe and well. Stay safe. Take care.

If you are feeling bored or facing lockdown blues, do check out this post:

30 Things to do while staying at home during the lockdown!

P.S: Do make sure that you regularly check your spam and trash folders. Some comments end up there and have to be rescued!

Here are the links to my other #AtoZChallenge one-liners. Click on any letter to read the corresponding post.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Image courtesy: Pexels from Pixabay.

Follow me on Instagram | Twitter

© 2020 Shweta Suresh. All rights reserved.

59 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge One-liner: U is for Umbrella

  1. Oh don’t even ask, whenever I forget to carry an umbrella it always rains and by rains, I mean heavy rains. I didn’t know that umbrellas were invented 4000 years back.

    Like

  2. Exactly…so now I carry one umbrella in my bag and another in the car yet it isn’t a foolproof mechanism. Nature has a way of getting at people more cautious about not getting drenched.

    Like

  3. Umbrella saves us from rain, but still I really hate to carry umbrella. It feels like a burden.
    In childhood, while going to school, my mom used to give me umbrella for saving me from scorching heat. But I used to keep it in my bag only. 😅

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.